
Demolition Charges (A23) 
DC Firepower:  30FP Factors for Placed/Thrown; 36FP Factors for Set. 
Modifications:  Not subject to FP modification for PBF/TPBF, use in the AFPh, Area Fire (EXC:  Concealment).  TEM applies to resolu-
tion; LOS hindrances do not.  If placing/throwing unit is CX, +1 penalty applies.   Wall/hedge TEM is NA for DC attacks (EXC: if thrown 
across a wall/hedge hexside, TEM applies to both target and thrower’s locations).  
Usage:  Non-elite Personnel (all Leader are Elite) suffer captured SW X# penalty (doubled if DC is captured).  Squad attacking with DC 
may also use inherent FP, but only in same phase in which DC explodes.  Berserk units may throw DCs but never place or set.  Infantry on 
top of a Wire counter may not place/throw/set DC. 
Set DC Clearance:  May be Cleared (B24.75), not Recovered.  Searching reveals & Random SW Destruction eliminates hidden Set DCs. 
Breaches (B23.711, B23.9221):  Unpinned, Good Order Infantry with a DC in a Rowhouse hex may try to breach the black bar to another 
Rowhouse hex.  It costs 1 MF to place a DC during the MPh for this purpose.  If successfully placed, the DC attack is resolved vs. the 
hexside (with normal TEM) during the AFPh.  Any NMC or better result will Breach the wall (and using same DR will attack any units in 
the location behind the wall as Area Fire (12FP if unconcealed; 6FP if concealed) with full TEM.  Place a Breach counter on the location.  
Thereafter, normal bldg-to-bldg LOS and movement options exist between the two location.  A DC may be used in the same way to create 
a breach in a Fortified Building hexside. 
Fortified Building Locations:  A DC may be placed in a Fortified Building hex even if the placing unit may not be able to enter it, using 
the normal building entry costs.   
Pillboxes:  If placing/throwing unit occupies an adjacent hex in CA of pillbox or the pillbox itself, the attack is modified by CA Defense 
Modification.  If placed/thrown from any other hex, it is modified by NCA Defense Modification.  DC may not be Thrown into adjacent 
hex from inside a pillbox, but may be Thrown into its own hex, with both the +3 DRM for Thrown DC and NCA TEM of pillbox applying 
to the Thrower.  A DC cannot be placed from inside to outside a pillbox.  Any DC detonating inside (such as being thrown into) a pillbox is 
resolved as Set DC. 
Wire:  A Placed DC can remove a Wire counter with an Original KIA result on IFT.  The Placing unit cannot be in the same location with 
the Wire to remove it (EXC: Japanese).  The MF of placing the DC in a Wire Location is normal; there is no additional cost due to the 
wire.  A Set DC will eliminate Wire with a Final KIA result. 
Roadblock:  DC KIA removes roadblock.  A DC attack can affect a roadblock only if placed/thrown through the roadblock hexside into 
either hex formed by that hexside, or set in the roadblock counter’s location. 
Caves (Placing/Throwing):  A DC may be placed into a cave by an unpinned, Good Order, non-Climbing Infantry that expends two MF 
(plus SMOKE MF, if any) while ADJ.  A DC may be Thrown into a cave by an adjacent, unpinned, Good Order, non-Climbng Thrower 
not more than one level lower than cave, which has a LOS to the cave, and which make a Cave Thrown DC dr (see chart).  When a placed/
thrown DC is detonated in a cave, it attacks only that cave/its contents and receive no DRM of any kind (EXC:  A Placed DC receives a –4 
DRM if no unconcealed Good Order Japanese MMC was in the cave when placed).   An unpinned, Good Order Infantry unit at a higher 
elevation than the cave (but not in its CA) may attempt to place a DC into it by moving onto a Climb counter whose arrow touches a vertex 
of that cave’s CA Hexside (or for a cave IN a Depression, touches a vertex of the hexside the Cave counter’s arrow points directly away 
from).  This type of climbing is allowed even along a non-cliff hexside (no Falling DR is made unless the unit is actually Climbing a cliff 
hexside and must change level).  The Climbing unit may attempt to Place its DC only when it is one level above the cave, even though no 
LOS exists.  No extra MF expenditure is required, but the attacker must make a Thrown DC dr (G11.833).  If unsuccessful, dC is elimi-
nated w/o detonating. 
Caves (Setting):  A DC may be set in a cave even if a unit cannot enter it (G11.8332).  Normal Set DC rules apply, but the unit must spend 
its entire MPh to Set the DC while ADJ to the cave.  If the cave’s CA Hexside is also a hill/cliff Crest Line hexside, the Setting unit must 
be declared to be occupying a specified vertex of the cave’s CA Hexside at the same level as the cave (this may sometimes require Crest 
Status/Climbing; a unit Setting a DC while on a Crest counter cannot claim its entrenchment TEM and a unit on a Climb counter may Set a 
DC only vs. a cave.  When set, the DC is put in the cave Location.  If no unconcealed Good Order Japanese MMC is in the cave when the 
set DC dr is made, the DC receive an extra –4 DRM for IFT purposes. 
Japanese A-T Set DC (G1.6121):  During onboard setup of 1945 scenarios vs. non-Russians, Japanese player may set up to 25% (FRU) of 
OB-provided DCs unpossessed in paved/unpaved road locations (EXC: bridge).  Treated as normal Set DC, but always use HIP (even if 
road location has no concealment terrain).  Never revealed by enemy LOS, but eliminated by OBA as per A9.74 or when its location I 
searched.  May be detonated only by one predesignated Infantry unit (even a HIP T-H Hero); not a “?” loss activity.  Can be detonated only 
a Defensive First Fire v. a vehicle entering location via road.  Successful detonation results in Blazing Wreck.  Accompanying Infantry 
using Armored Assault are attacked as by normal Set DC. 
DC Hero (G1.424):  A Japanese unit allowed to create a T-H Hero may, if possessing a DC, attempt during its own MPh to create a DC 
Hero.  Must be w/in 8 MF of and LOS to any enemy unit/gun or enemy-controlled hex w/fortification counter.  Creation successful on dr 1-
5; dr 6 results in unit being pinned.  A DC hero may not place/throw a DC, or make a CC attack.  Instead, it must make a Banzai Charge 
against its designated target.  When in that location/hex, during or at end of its MPh, provided it has survived all Defensive First Fire al-
lowed by his immediately previous MF expenditure, it may detonate its DC.  It is resolved as a Placed DC (EXC: by a unit on a Rice Paddy 
Bank Counter, versus targets beneath a Bank Counter, is resolved as a Thrown DC; same for unit above a Panji counter vs. target beneath 
Panji counter).  DC Hero is then eliminated. 
Other Japanese Usage:  Any unbroken Japanese Infantry unit possessing a DC may, in lieu of normally Placing it, detonate it immediately 
during or at end of its own MPh as per DC Hero (and is eliminated).  If it is above a Bank counter, detonation vs. any target beneath that 
counter is resolved as a Thrown DC; the same is true for Panjis (detonation may damage Panji; see G9.72). 
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DC Placing Procedure 

Place DC 
(MPh) 

Unpinned unit may place DC on ADJ location in its LOS 
(EXC: Cave; G11.8331) in MPh by carrying unit pending 
extra MPh = amount required to enter target location (w/o 
bypass).  Considered movement expended in placing unit’s 
hex, not target unit’s hex.  If enemy AFV occupies target 
hex, PAATC is required. To affect AFV, must predesignate 
it as target. 

Survive 
Fire 
(MPh) 

Placing unit must survive all DFF, SFF, and FPF unbroken 
and unpinned (berserk ok).  If broken/pinned/elim, DC is 
not placed and stays with placing unit (or in its hex if unit is 
elim).  Afterwards, if it has sufficient MP, can even move 
away or subsequently suffer adverse results. 

Explode 
(AFPh) 

30FP attack on IFT.  Original KIA destroys Cave; may 
cause Flame (see B25.13); and/or Rubble (see B24.11; can 
also rubble a sewer).  May damage Panji (see G9.72). 

Vs. AFV 
(AFPh) 

First, make DC Position DR (C7.346).  Target facing of 
AFV based on hexside through which DC was placed (even 
if AFV changes CA after placement but prior to detona-
tion).  If DC comes from w/in same hex, it attacks Rear 
Target Facing.  Second, roll on HE & Flame To Kill Chart 
(C7.34). 

DC Throwing Procedure 

Throw DC 
(PFPh, Defen-
sive First Fire, 
DFPh, AFPh) 

Unpinned, Good Order/Berserk unit (unmarked by First/Final 
fire counter) may throw DC into ADJ location in its LOS 
(including stairwell) or down to a ground-level, in-LOS loca-
tion of adj hex (ex: down a cliff or from upper level building 
location).  May not be thrown to a full-level higher location.  
May not throw in same location unless thrower is Japanese or 
target is vehicle in bypass. 

Explode vs. 
Target
(immediately) 

30FP attack on IFT.  +2 DRM (+3 if Thrown from nonstopped/
Motion vehicle or by Cavalry).  +1 DRM if thrown in AFPh 
(unless Opp. Firer).  Original KIA destroys Cave; may cause 
Flame (see B25.13); and/or Rubble (see B24.11; can also rubble 
a sewer).  May damage Panji (see G9.72). 

Explode vs. 
Firer 
(immediately; 
separate die 
roll from 
Target) 

30FP attack on IFT.  +3 DRM (+4 if Thrown from nonstopped/
Motion vehicle or by Cavalry).  +1 DRM if thrown in AFPh 
(unless Opp. Firer).  Firer not affected if thrown from elevation 
≥ 2 levels higher than target.  Original KIA may cause Flame 
(see B25.13); and/or Rubble (see B24.11; can also rubble a 
sewer).  May damage Panji (see G9.72).  DC thrown from AFV 
does not affect AFV but affects Vulnerable PRC. 

Vs. AFV First, make DC Position DR (C7.346).  Vs. AFV in AFPh, +1 
penalty applies to Position DR instead.  Target facing of AFV 
based on hexside through which DC was thrown.  If DC comes 
from w/in same hex, it attacks Rear Target Facing.  Second, roll 
on HE & Flame To Kill Chart (C7.34). 

DC Setting Procedure 

Set DC Prior 
to Play (SSR 
Only) 

No penalty or restriction.  Must assign 
to a setting unit.  SSR may allow 
hidden DC. 

Set DC 
During Play 
(MPh) 

Infantry unit may set in its location by 
spending all MF (using Hazardous 
Movement) and making dr ≤ US# 
(leadership drm allowed).  Must 
survive all defensive fire w/o pinning 
or breaking. 

Detonate Set 
DC (any 
friendly fire 
phase) 

Setting unit (or derivative HS) may 
detonate, if Good Order, w/in 2-6 
hexes of DC, in LOS of DC, and if it 
passes a NTC. 

Resolve 
Explosion—
Malfunction 

Malfunctions only on DR of 12, but 
+1 DRM to DR (for malfunction 
purposes only) for each enemy Infan-
try unit currently in Location. 

Resolve 
Explosion—
Detonation 

Resolved on 36FP column (18FP vs 
concealed units), with –3 DRM and 
NO TEM (including vs. vulnerable 
PRC, but +2 CE DRM applies).  Final 
KIA will destroy any bridge or af-
fected building level in hex.  See 
A23.71 for multihex bridges.  Origi-
nal KIA destroys Cave; may cause 
Flame (see B25.13); and/or Rubble 
(see B24.11).  May damage Panji (see 
G9.72). 

Aerial Armor Factor & DC To Kill 

AFV’s Worst AF 0 1 2 3 4 6 8 11 

Aerial AF 0 0 1 2 3 3 4 4 

DC To Kill # = 16 (use IFT for unarmored 
vehicles). 

C7.346  DC Placement vs. AFV DR 
(DR also serves as hit location DR) 

≤ 5 Use Aerial AF 

6-8 Use AF 

9-11 Specific Collateral Attack only (Requires 
new effects DR) 

≥ 12 Area Fire Attack vs. non-armored units only 

DRM: 

+2 Motion/Non-Stopped AFV or concealed 
Target 

+2 Thrown DC (+3 if Thrown from Non-
Stopped/Motion vehicle) 

+1 CX 

+1 Placed/Thrown through hull front Target 
Facing 

+1 AFV target is CE 

+1 Thrown in AFPh (not Opportunity Fire) 

-1 Placed/Thrown through hull rear Target 
Facing 

-2 Immobile/OT AFV target (each) 

-2 Vehicle target is in Bypass in same hex 

-1 C7.22 Elevation Advantage (-2 for OT) 

Thrown-DC (vs CAVES) dr 

≤ 3 Successfully Thrown1 

≥ 4 Unsuccessful2 

drm 

+1 Cave’s level > that of Thrower 

+1 Thrower in moving/Motion vehicle 

-1 Thrower ADJ to cave 

-1 Thrower is Heroic/Fanatic 

Notes 

1. DC attacks cave/contents, with no DRM 
of any kind. 

2.  DC falls unpossessed to Base Level of 
Entrance Hex and attacks that cave, its 
contents and Entrance Hex (and Thrower’s 
Location, if not in that Entrance Hex) with 
all DRM (including +4 Cave TEM).  Attack 
vs. cave/contents NA if DC and cave now at 
different levels; attack vs. other cave/
contents in Entrance Hex NA. 

DC vs. Gun Destruction Table (C11.6)  

≤ Final KIA Gun & Crew Elim 

= Final K Gun Malf; Crew suffers CR 

Final DR is prior to applying Gunshield 
DRM (C11.4). 


