
Rice Paddies (G8) 
Rice Paddies have two parts: interior 
and banks.  Units in the interior are IN 
the paddy, while those on its banks are 
placed above a Bank counter in the hex.  
Being “in” a paddy refers to being in 
either/both positions.  A unit can either 
enter onto a paddy hex’s banks or INTO 
its interior.  Only Infantry, Cavalry, 
Cycle Riders and fully tracked vehicles 
may set up IN or enter INTO a paddy.  
Such Infantry may not ride bicycles but 
may lead horses.   
 
Banks:  A Bank counter does NOT 
create a new Location or change stack-
ing units.  Only units allowed to enter 
INTO a paddy may cross a bank hexside 
(EXC: bicyclists may cross bank hex-
side if entering onto a Bank counter or a 
road).  The only units that may set-up/
enter/remain above a Bank counter are 
Infantry (even if riding bicycles/leading 
horses, but not manhandling a gun/boat), 
Cavalry, and Cycle Riders.  
 
Paddies may be in one of three 
states:  Drained, Irrigated, In-
Season: 
 
• Drained:  The interior is Open Ground (aside from cover provided by banks).  Entry Cost INTO:  1 (hexside cost) + 

Open Ground MF/MP cost. 
• Irrigated:  Paddy is flooded; the interior is Mud and Bog Terrain (+1 Mud DRM, +2 Irrigated Paddy DRM).  No Fortifi-

cation (EXC: mines/wire/panjis) is allowed IN a paddy.  No unhooked non-vehicular Gun (unless dm/animal-packed), Gal-
loping/Charging Cavalry, Pushed/Ridden Motorcycle, or Ridden bicycle is allowed IN a paddy.  Unpossessed equipment 
IN an Irrigated paddy is eliminated unless in a vehicle/animal-packed.  SW ≥ 3PP IN Irrigated paddy has a restricted field 
of fire (A9.21).  FP of all DC, ordnance/OBA HE attacks (EXC: HE-Equivalency/Vehicle Target Type/Specific Collateral 
Attack) vs. Irrigated paddy hex are halved on IFT.  A white SMOKE counter may not be placed in an Irrigated paddy hex.  
MF cost of Manhandling a boat is not doubled as per C10.3.  Entry Cost INTO:  1 (hexside cost) + 2x Cost of Open 
Ground Mud. 

• In-Season:  Interior is Grain, but is Concealment Terrain only for Infantry, Dummy stacks, Fortifications, Emplaced Guns.  
Mud can exist IN In-Season paddies even though not Open Ground.  Entry Cost INTO:  1 (hexside cost) + Grain MF/
MP. 

PADDY MOVE-
MENT CHART 

Unit IN paddy Unit in non-paddy hex Unit on Bank counter 

To enter directly 
onto Bank counter 
in adjacent paddy 
hex (provided it 
crosses bank hex-
side): 

1 MF (3 MP cycle) to cross 
bank hexside, plus 1 MF (3 

MP cycle) to enter onto 
Bank counter (Mud MF/MP 
can apply if EC are Mud) 

G8.2101 

1 MF (3 MP cycle) to cross 
bank hexside, plus 1 MF (3 

MP cycle) to enter onto 
Bank counter (Mud MF/MP 
can apply if EC are Mud) 

G8.2101 

1 MF (3 MP cycle). (Mud 
MF/MP can apply if EC are 

Mud) 
G8.2106  

To enter directly 
INTO adjacent 
paddy hex: 

1 MF/MP (3 MP cycle) if 
crossing a bank hexside, 
plus IN-hex COT of hex. 
(Mud MF/MP can apply) 

G8.2102 

1 MF/MP (3 MP cycle) if 
crossing a bank hexside, 
plus IN-hex COT of hex. 
(Mud MF/MP can apply) 

G8.2102 

Provided it crosses bank 
hexside, 1 MF (3 MP cycle) 
to cross bank hexside, plus 
IN-hex COT. (Mud MF/MP 

can apply) 
G8.2105  

To enter directly 
into adjacent non-
paddy hex: 

1 MF/MP (3 MP cycle) to 
cross bank hexside plus 
COT of non-paddy hex.  

(Mud MF/MP can apply if 
EC are Mud) 

G8.2103 

NA 1 MF (3 MP cycle) to cross 
bank hexside + COT non-

paddy hex. (Mud MF/MP can 
apply if EC are Mud) 

G8.2107 

To enter directly 
onto Bank counter 
in same hex: 

1 MF (3 MP cycle).  (Mud 
MF/MP never apply) 

G8.2104 

NA NA 

To enter INTO 
same hex: 

NA NA IN-hex COT 
(Mud MF/MP never apply) 

G8.2108  



Bank Counter Penalties 

• May not Recover/Scrounge anything IN paddy 

• May not participate in Transfer with unit IN paddy 

• May not Set DC IN paddy 

• May not Guard prisoner that is IN paddy 

• May not voluntarily become TI (thus may not entrench, clear, 
search, pack, unpack) 

• Infantry subject to Hazardous Movement penalties 

• Infantry cannot gain “?” 

• Infantry enters INTO hex if broken/pinned/Melee/Column Dis-
bands.  If forced INTO hex by breaking/pinning during MPh, it is 
assumed to expend COT for such infantry (even if exceeding re-
maining MF; this does not make it CX) & is no longer subject to 
Hazardous Movement (but unless pinned is subject to FFNAM). 

• Infantry may only use Inherent FP/SW, LMG, LATW (EXC: 20mm 
ATR), FT, Thrown DC.  Non-CC attacks treated as Area Fire (EXC: 
Thrown DC). 

• CC:  +2 drm to Ambush dr; +1 DRM to CC attack, -1 DRM to CC 
attack against it. 

• Unbroken Japanese Infantry above Bank counter may detonate its 
DC as per G1.424, but it is resolved as Thrown DC for any targets 
beneath Bank counter. 

• Cavalry may not Gallop/Charge on/off a Bank counter. 

• Only Personnel above Bank counter may mount horse/cycle that is 
above Bank counter; may disembark from such a horse/cycle only 
onto Bank counter (EXC: may Bail Out INTO hex; surviving cycle 
also placed IN hex—unless paddy is Irrigated; then cycle is elimi-
nated).  (same principle applies for units IN paddy) 

• Unpossessed SW above Bank counter placed IN paddy (eliminating 
it if Irrigated), unless Animal-Packed (unpossessed Animal Packed 
Guns also remain) 

• A unit above Bank counter cannot claim TEM of AFV/wreck IN 
that hex. 

TEM:  Bank hexsides are treated as hedges for TEM purposes (EXC: TEM 
reduced to zero if firer is at elevation > target’s; if target is above a Bank 
counter; or if target unit is not Infantry).  Cannot confer HD/Wall Advantage 
status.  Interior of a paddy hex is Open Ground if its bank-hexside TEM is 
zero (EXC: Interior is grain if In-Season).  A Bank counter is always Open 
Ground. 
 
LOS:  Entrenched Infantry treat bank hexsides as hedges for LOS purposes.  
LOS to/from unit on Bank counter is drawn to/from paddy hex’s center dot.  
An AFV/wreck IN a paddy retains its normal Hindrance effects.  Hindrance 
effect of In-Season paddy differs from grain in that +1/hex Hindrance is 
halved (FRD) and the grain is considered Inherent Terrain. 
 
MUD:  Mud can exist IN/in paddy hexes if they are Irrigated and/or EC are 
Mud.  Irrigated paddies are mud only IN those hexes, unless EC are Mud.  If 
EC are Mud, mud rules apply in and IN all paddy hexes, even if In-Season.  
Extra MF/MP cost of mud applies to entry onto a Bank counter only if EC 
are mud AND the unit is changing hexes.  When mud is in effect for any 
reason, its +1 TEM applies normally in and IN those hexes. 
 
FIRES:  No (Terrain) Flame/Blaze can occur in Drained/Irrigated paddy.  
In-season paddies are treated as grain for Fire purposes (but do not qualify 
for “directly attached” DRM if their common hexside is a bank hexside). 
 
FORTIFICATIONS:  All types of Fortifications may set up IN Drained/In-
Season paddy hexes.  No Fortification may be set up above Bank counter.  
None but minefields/wire OR panjis may be set up in Irrigated paddy hexes.  
Mines occupy both interior/banks.  Use of Bank counter NA if hex contains 
Wire/Panji.  Each unit/SW/Gun above Wire/Panji counter in paddy hex is IN 
that hex, but Infantry above Wire/Panji counter cannot claim bank-hexside 
TEM nor paddy’s non-Open Ground status, and are subject to all attack 
limitations (G8.212) as if above Bank counter, in addition to prohibitions of 
Wire/Panji counter.  Shellholes can occur IN Drained/In-Season paddies, in 
which case IN-hex terrain characteristics change appropriately (banks unaf-
fected).  Infantry can ignore bank hexside movement costs when crossing 
from one Trench counter to another.   
 
BREACH:  Mobile dozer can breach bank hexside of a Drained/In-Season 
(only) paddy just like a bocage hexside, except that it expends only 1/4 
(FRU), not all, of its MP allowance.  All unit types may enter INTO a 
Drained/In-Season paddy via a breached or non-bank hexside. 
 
AERIAL:  Parachutes/gliders land IN paddy hexes.  A 5/8” parachute land-
ing IN an Irrigated paddy must take a NMC per E9.42.  Paratroops appear-
ing onboard as per E9.6 may not enter onto a Bank counter during same 
APh.  A glider landing IN a paddy receives the +1 “hedge” Crash drm if it 
lands across a bank hexside, as per E8.231. 


